Experience | How scheduling has relieved my post-holiday symptoms

I still remember my father always asked me to make plans for summer/winter holiday when I was young. Probably you may have heard many times why you should do that, how important to make schedules, but you don’t really believe or to say it doesn’t work that effectively as you thought.

to-write-774648_640

I planned a 4-days trip to Gold Coast and Brisbane at early mid break. It sounds a bit crazy to do this at my busiest period. I’m super busy with studies and assignments in my final semester at uni these days. I’ve got tests to prepare and several projects and group works due right after the holiday. But I do want to give myself some break, and I’ve planned that trip since last semester.

I know I must do the schedule and stick to it; otherwise I will get much stressed and feel clueless when I’m back. Although it wasn’t a long journey, I still hit by post-trip feelings. Good thing is that constrain on schedule helps me figure out what should I do, which work should I start with.

    TO DO LIST

  • Sep 25  SYD to Gold Coast
  • Sep 26  Gold Coast
  • Sep 27  Brisbane & Gold Coast
  • Sep 28  Gold Coast to SYD
  • Sep 29  GENS9005 group meeting
  • Sep 30  GENS9005 script; shopping
  • Oct 1     MDIA3004 trailer editing
  • Oct 2     MDIA3004 presentation shooting/editing
  • Oct 3     MDIA3004 presentation shooting/editing
  • Oct 4     MDIA3004 presentation finish editing
  • Oct 5     MDIA3005 test preparation, blog

So this was how my schedule looks like. Not much in details but with all works that I need to do on it. I gave myself four days at early break to enjoy the holiday; then one to two days to adjust the post-trip blue and get ready to work in later break. That gives me enough time and steps to adjust from holiday mode to normal routine.

If you are not living with the habit of making schedule, I encourage you make some plans for your holiday, including trips and post-trip. You can divide it into periods and give yourself some time for adjustment instead of having it in one go. That really helps to relieve from post-holiday syndrome!

Jie. X.

6 thoughts on “Experience | How scheduling has relieved my post-holiday symptoms

    • Yes for me as well. Scheduling really helps to bring you on the right track and turn the holiday mode off. Once you’ve tried, you’ll see the difference between doing or not doing!

      Like

  1. 我想起之前寒假的时候制定过的一个有点无聊的计划…寒假嘛天气特别冷so每天都睡到快中午十二点才醒;-)某日看了一部电视剧之后里面有句台词…衣着单薄些可使人意志坚定😂…然后就决定每天八点前起床…虽然早起也并没有什么卵用…但是我觉得那段时间我过得非常健康(•‾⌣‾•)y

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

